Drink & Listen – Aphrodisiaque

Dark Night of Soul & L'Aphrodisiaque

In my experience, there are few better ways to unwind after a tedious, fluorescent-lit day than to put on a record and have an excellent brew. I’ve always enjoyed reading about other people’s beer and album pairings and figured I’d give it a go.

I had a few Aphrodisiaques, brewed by Dieu du Ciel! and easily one of my favourite beers, kicking around. Given the damp, dreary weather outside, this would be perfect.

It pours like espresso, deep coffee brown with a slightly auburn hue. The nose is rich dark chocolate and malt. Tastes of cacao, vanilla and coffee with a nice amount of bitterness. On some sips I get hints of dried fruits. Fairly thick bodied, increasing the longer you drink. The taste lingers pleasantly.

To me this has and always will be a winter beer and Dark Night of the Soul is the perfect match. This Sparklehorse/Danger Mouse/et al. collaboration, in particular sides C and D, compliment what’s going on in my mouth. As an album it is dark and mysterious, subtly sexy and often down-right creepy; much like the beer, other than the creepy part. It even has a slight jazziness, in particular on the title track, that reminds me of my first visit to the Dieu du Ciel! Brewpub in Montreal, where they had a DJ spinning great indie jazz. I guess what I’m trying to say is, great beer, great album; if you’re lucky enough to have an Aphrodisiaque close by, why not give it a try?

